Learning to Fly

I’ve always been interested in learning how to fly and in May I decided to take the plunge and get in contact with a local flight school. When I was growing up I got a few (5) hours of flying experience and dreamed of being a pilot… But my hopes were dashed since I had poor eyesight (discouraging me to go through the AirForce) and training by private means was (at the time) far too expensive… It’s somewhat ironic that nowadays freshly minted pilots are struggling to find work because universities are pumping out students with courses made more accessible through HECS/HELP government study loans.

Now that I’ve got some savings and new ideas to combine a career in medicine and aviation; it’s now time for me to get back in the cockpit to train towards earning a private pilots license. I thought I’d share the learning process as I try to take detailed notes on each experience… I’m generally going to format flight log entries in the following way:

Date:
Flight/Purpose:
Flight time (hr):
Aircraft Reg:
Details:
– Airport
– Instructor (Initials)
– Briefing Time & Discussion
– Time to take off, Runway, Airport
– Time to land, Runway, Airport
– Weather Conditions
– Goals
– Tasks
– Notes

I’m following a few interesting forums, podcasts and youtube channels that serve as a great resource to complement learning how to fly… I strongly recommend the following:
– The Friendly Skies (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCs3M-gaOPVsfOMBFYlpo-Aw)
– FlightChops (http://flightchops.com/)
– PPRunE Forums (http://www.pprune.org/)
– The Finer Points Pod Cast (https://www.learnthefinerpoints.com/podcast)

posts will be tagged #flying

Leave a Reply

